This is Viper #DnD #Miniatures

Viper didn’t plan to be a hero. In fact he is surprised he is even alive. A war orphan raised in the woods mostly on his own, an outcast from birth due to his parentage, he didn’t have a promising beginning. And his early life was mostly spent on his own. learning the skills of a Ranger, hunting and trapping in the hills around Clermont. It wasn’t until he was summoned by the Count to join the Sheriff’s group that he began to come into his own.

Now he has come into his own, a truly dangerous person. A masterful archer, swordsman, learning more and more about the world around him. He has now begun to truly explore the realm of alchemy and potion brewing, in the hopes of making the lives of those around him better. While he still prefers the company of his snakes, he has learned how to fight beyond those limits.

I have found over the years that having a figure for a character can make a big difference. Even if you never use them on the table top. It makes things fun to try and capture the essence of the figure in a character. That is what I tried to do with this one, even if the character came before the figure and painting. But doing this project really brought it all together.

Here is where I started
Here is where I started
New paints to begin with
New paints to begin with

As I said before, when I first began playing in the Denver game and I saw them using miniatures I felt the urge. And when I started playing with the new character I really knew that I wanted to do this right. So I started from scratch, did some research, decided on some new paints, and found the right figure. I hadn’t seriously painted in a couple of years, and I was trying some new techniques. But I took my time as best I could. Pausing to rest and ponder my progress.

Mostly done
Mostly done
Mostly done
Mostly done

Not everything turned out great. But I am quite proud of a few things. That cloak turned out very well for an Elven cloak. And of course working with with Greens and Browns are always a challenge for me with my color blindness. But this weekend with my downtime I was able put on the finishing touches.

Finished back view
Finished back view
Finished side view
Finished side view

I was able to take him to Denver for the game yesterday. And I got some good reviews. It is funny how everything meshed. I think my character in the game has really reached a level with the rest of the group now. I am comfortable with the rules and what I am doing. And that matched up with my completing the figure and unveiling him.

Now I can turn my focus to figures for the boys and that game. I will be taking a break from that game after this week to get some much needed house projects done. But I will still try to keep up the painting in some down time.

Leave a comment