Just poking around and found a campaign changer #Pathfinder #Roleplaying

Today I was poking around the Pathfinder web site, perusing the extensive free books. Which is a very cool thing by the way, wish more companies understood the concept of free rules. I was looking for more ways to improve my character in the Denver game. Because that is what I do, I am a planner, I enjoy thinking about my character, making sure I know everything he can do, and figuring out what direction and abilities I want to go and add.

Seeing as he is a Ranger whose Animal companion is a snake I was looking for stuff related to snakes. What could I add that was snake like? I did find something, I need to work with my DM on it, because it is not clear how I can add it. I want to add the Scent ability, like a snake uses scent to detect and track prey. Since this world is full of undead, and demons and devils it would be handy to be able to detect things through multiple senses.

Anyway I typed in the phrase lizard folk in the search engine. And lo and behold I found a full length entry from one of the books. That goes deep into the Lizard folk race, certain types, spells, Feats, etc. This is really cool, I can really dig into the lizard folk in my game now, without having to re-make the wheel as it were. And this especially big to me for one simple reason: I have tons of miniatures.

Once upon a time I had a large Lizardman army for Warhammer Fantasy. And I have used some of the figures as proxies. But now I can design full campaigns around meeting, adventuring among and likely fighting a big lizardman threat. And be able to use my existing miniatures, and not have to do a lot of proxies. That’s a big deal for me, it makes my life easier. And more interesting for the boys as they can get a little more WISIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) on the table top.

It all comes from being curious and being willing to poke around and read through the source material. Which is something I don’t think some people do nearly enough. Well let me rephrase that, I am fine with people not doing that, so long as they are not interested in the game beyond what happens at each session. That is not me however, I want to know what I am doing and what I can and can’t do before the game starts.

For example, one of the things I was working is making my character more mobile. So, after reading the rules, adding some skills, and figuring out some spells, I can very easily get my character to the point where he is jumping 20 feet in the air or 40 feet jumps without any real risk of failure. That to me is cool, I know what I can do now, and when the game takes place this weekend I will be more willing to make those moves.

Leave a Reply

