Using #CriticalRole for #DND evangelism

This past weekend my brother was in town for a visit. Way back in the day, when I was first playing D&D, he played a little with some of his buddies in high school. I even got to join them for one session, although I might have enjoyed that more than he did. And later, when he was in college, when one of his buddies came home with him for a visit we ran a quick one shot. In short my brother knows about D&D but has not really played it very much. But, he is a creative person who used to be a professional actor.

That meant that I felt that it was my duty to share Critical Role with him. Because it would appeal on multiple levels. As someone who had played D&D, he would not be completely lost when they talked about some of the concepts. And as an actor, he would appreciate the talent of the actors on the show as they demonstrated their skills as voice actors and also at improvisation.

Then Monday night before our Deadlands game the GM was asking me about 5th Edition. Was it any good? Was it worth the investment? As I waxed somewhat incoherently but enthusiastically about the game I brought up the show. Because the show does a great job of showing off what people can do with this edition, even at the higher levels of power that have so often thrown other games off in the past. And as a veteran role player, he would really appreciate some of the playing and inside jokes as well.

And that is another reason I really tried to get the boys to watch the show. Because they can learn so much about the game watching it. How to use their abilities and spells. The people on the show do a fantastically creative job of using everything at their disposal. I end up going to my spell descriptions and Monster Manual almost every time they play just to see if that is how something works because it is so novel.

In fact, I am kind of sad that I am now completely caught up with the show. Now I just have to wait until Thursdays, or more accurately Fridays because of time constraints, to watch the continuing story. Oh well, it is just something to look forward to.

 

Leave a Reply

