Spinning ideas in my mind #DnD #RPG

I have an unplanned hiatus in my gaming. My Deadlands game took what is now a 2 session break. The boys D&D game is on indefinite leave. And my Pathfinder is about to resume after the normal 4 weeks but it feels like longer because we had 2 sessions close to each other. That has left my mind free to ponder ideas. That is when I am at my most dangerous.

I pondered the idea of getting James and me into a new table top game. With the new rule set for Warmachine, I looked at that. That is a very well developed world. With its own RPG. I have always liked the miniatures, and from what I have seen it looks like a good game. I even checked out one of the fiction books from the setting from the library, to get a better idea of the feel of the world. And decided that it was not for me. I have never been much into the Steampunk genre in general, and doing further research I determined that this game and world setting rely very strongly on that genre.

Then Wizards came out with their latest Plane Shift setting. This time in the Magic the Gathering Plane of Innistrad. I confess to not knowing a lot about that setting so I went ahead and downloaded the free file. And after reading through it I realized that it is very much in the Gothic world setting. I think that is a cool setting. And I am intrigued by the idea of running a D&D game in that kind of setting. Even cooler is how much this setting relies on the ideas of a Church and machinations within that. Plus it leaves the traditional fantasy tropes of Elves, Dwarfs etc. behind. Sadly, the boys are simply not nearly sophisticated enough to run a game like this. Which is okay, I can leave this one in my back pocket in case I ever get to run a D&D game for more mature players.

The thing about the reboot of the boys campaign is that I am determined to avoid any long term arcs for now. Keep it a simple monster of the week kind of journey through the wilderness. Which limits my planning for now beyond the next adventure.

That all leaves me a little creatively frustrated at the moment. I am pondering setting up a Roll20 game. One of the boys wants to run a game on that setup, and I will have to see how it goes before I look deeper at it. I am conflicted by the idea of role playing online. As an introvert, I embrace the idea of not leaving home. But as the parent of 3 kids, I find the idea of trying to carve out physical space and time to role play from home difficult at best.

I will figure it all out, it is summer, with everyone taking vacations etc. I at least have confirmation that I will be playing Pathfinder on Sunday so I have a fix on the near horizon.

Leave a Reply

